Album Review: Ski Mask The Slump God – YouWillRegret

skimaskyouwillregret
Image Source
“YOUWILLREGRET” (YouWillRegret) is the new mixtape from South Florida based rapper, Ski Mask The Slump God, who released his other three mixtapes/eps back in 2016. I had been highly anticipating hearing a new Ski Mask The Slump God mixtape, mostly because I was not aware of the rapper when he released his previous projects, all of which I enjoy. Ski Mask is one of my favorite rappers to come out of this new age of “Internet/SoundCloud Rappers”, who are basically just normal rappers releasing music a bit different than what is normal. A lot of these rappers either get a ton of hate, or a ton of love (i. e. XXXTentacion, Lil Pump, Ski Mask The Slump God), I personally enjoyed this new mixtape and I think it features some of Ski Mask’s best songs to date on it.

Ski Mask The Slump God is not exactly offering anything brand new or offbeat when compared to his usual style or his previous stuff on “YOUWILLREGRET”, but it is very difficult to criticize his lack of change due to him being such a unique artist to begin with. Ski Mask is the kind of guy that everyone wants to be friends with, and who everyone CAN be friends with. He makes very fun and energized music, and he has a rapid fire spoken word flow whenever he raps. The guy just has a lot of charisma and is comfortable stepping up to the mic. This charisma is shown on this album through the spoken word vocal noises that build up a setting for the song (“yuh…” “ayeee” “VR!” “HUH!” “OoOo!”), which may sound annoying at first, but they do the job and add character and a theme to the song, which usually revolves around hanging out, enjoying life, sex, drugs, and watching cartoons.

I am fond the track “Rambo”, this track is the first track on the mixtape, as well as sounding like a classic Ski Mask song, featuring his signature flow, loud distorted bass, trap beats, and a short track length designed to leave you wanting more. I also like the second track, “JustLikeMyPiss” is one of my favorites, it’s really catchy with it’s simple chorus “My bitch she hot- my bitch she hot- my bitch she hot- my bitch she hot”. This track also features “MadeInTYO”, a musician I have never heard of, but I enjoyed the verse they put on this song, which offers us insightful lyrics such as “my bitch she hot- just like my piss” and “gimmie the brain gimmie the head.”

I also really enjoy “Babywipe”, a previously released song that was already one of Ski Mask’s most popular songs, and it isn’t hard to figure out why that it either. Instantly when the song begins Ski Mask drops the lyrics “How is you feelin’ vro, feelin’ like the four I feel fantastic / Which one would you be though? Mr. Fantastic because my money like elastic”, and I can’t put into words how good those lyrics are in the song, they are just great. I also enjoy the lyrics, “When I whip my dick out she said ‘too big I gotta map this'” as well as the classic “weed deadass smell like a fart”. I love this song honestly, I think it has the capabilities to cheer me up even when I am feeling really down just due to it’s humorous lines. The production on this track is great as well.

“H2O” is a song we got on the Members Only Vol. 3 collection, and it features popular singer/rapper, XXXTentacion, one of my personal favorite artists at the moment. This song goes so fast and burns out even faster, it’s hard to tell what is even going on in the first few listens, but you can’t help but enjoy it. X and Ski Mask have an undeniable musical chemistry and I always love when they come together and collaborate on a song like this.

I actually was not too hot on the song “Bird is The Word”, I find it to be too repetitive and I think it lasts much longer than it should. The droning style of Ski Mask’s vocals on this track just repeat “Bird is da word bird is da word flipping the bird- bird is da word” for what seems like an eternity. This one just doesn’t click with me. The beat is pretty good on this track though, i will give credit there. Bird is The Word is the only track I dislike I on this mixtape however, so we are done.

Overall, I thought this was an excellent mixtape and I have some more songs to add to my Spotify hip hop playlist. Of course I look forward to any future releases from Ski Mask The Slump God (Maybe with a new direction sonically, even if only for one album), and I highly recommend this album if you are trying to get into rappers from the South Florida Soundcloud scene.

Release Date: 30 June 2017

Genres: Hip Hop, Southern Hip Hop, Trap.

Tracklist:

  1. Rambo
  2. JustLikeMyPiss
  3. Bird Is The Word
  4. Babywipe
  5. Gone (Interlude)
  6. Adventure Time
  7. EverTookATab?
  8. Winnie
  9. Energy
  10. H20

Track Highlights: H20, Babywipe, Rambo, Adventure Time, JustLikeMyPiss, Gone.

i. e. 8.4/10

Leave a Reply

