Drink Review: Mountain Dew Spiked Raspberry Lemonade

My very first drink review was over Mountain Dew Spiked Lemonade nearly two months ago. At the time, I did not have a clue what I was doing, made poor attempts at dry humor, and spent two hours of my day attempting to figure out how to properly review a drink using the most words possible. Since then, that review has become my third most viewed review as of this date (06/25/17), and drink reviews as a whole take all five spots of my top five most visited reviews, making them a staple on my bottom tier critic blog. So, today I am going to be reviewing Mountain Dew Spiked Lemonade’s sibling drink. Mountain Dew Spiked Raspberry Lemonade is a non alcoholic- raspberry lemonade flavored soft drink that is spiked with the juice concentrate of a Prickly Pear Cactus. This drink, and the regular spiked lemonade version, are stand alone Mountain Dew products that are not directly affiliated with any other Mountain Dew product line. However, after analyzing all of the Mountain Dew “Labels” drinks, I have reason to believe that the Spiked Lemonades are possibly a sub brand of the “Labels” series. I also now have reason to believe that much like the Labels drinks, Spiked Lemonade is a craft soda of some sort due to it being sold exclusively in a can, as well as because it does not contain sugar substitutes such as High Fructose Corn Syrup. Anyways…

What does this drink taste like? Well, it kind of tastes like a watered down lemonade to be honest. When you drink this, it mainly tastes like carbonated water with lemon and a little something extra along with it. You can sort of taste the prickly pear cactus juice, but not to the extent that I recall with the original Spiked Lemonade. Like, you will (probably) not be like “Wow! I can’t believe this overwhelming flavor explosion that the prickly pear cactus bring to the table!”. That is not to say this drink tastes bad, a drink can’t taste bad if there is not much there to taste you know? I think this is relatively enjoyable. I will say it does not contain any sort of aftertaste at all, which is pretty strange. I am just really let down because this does not taste much like raspberry as it should. I was expecting a nice blend of the cactus juice concentrate along with a strong raspberry flavor, or at least some berry aftertaste.

Now I normally will never bother with pouring my drinks into a glass, because I am trying to give a casual review of what you will receive buying a drink straight from the store, with the “aluminum can taste” and everything. Because of this I never have commented on the color of a drink either, because I think that is irrelevant to the overall review of a simple drink. (I think most reviewers only comment on color to increase word count or view time honestly). However, with this drink I wanted to see what the color of it was, because I am just so let down over the boring flavor. The drink is a light pink or a peach color and does look like a carbonated pink or raspberry lemonade, that being said, WHERE IS THE RASPBERRY AT?!? Even drinking this from a plain glass I am still disappointed. Oh well, what can you do?

Calories: 140 Calories

Misc: 72 mg of Caffeine per serving/can. 2% Juice. 16 fl. oz per serving/can. Does not contain High Fructose Corn Syrup.

i. e. 4.7/10

Leave a Reply

