Drink Review: Mountain Dew Green Label

Mountain Dew Green Label is the “Green Apple Kiwi” flavored Mountain Dew that is apart of Mountain Dew’s new “Labels” series of real sugar craft sodas. What makes these different from the normal Mountain Dew bottled sodas is the absence of High Fructose Corn Syrup, lower calorie amounts, lower sugar content, as well as just an overall different taste and texture. These drinks seem to be more reliant on juice concentrates over syrups to create flavors. I already reviewed the Mountain Dew White Label drink, which I thought was pretty decent, so I was much more open to trying another drink from the Labels series even though I dislike Mountain Dew. I thought Green Apple Kiwi was a fascinating flavor combination due to it’s originality as a concept, and I was anxious to find out if it actually tasted as good as it sounded.

The most prominent flavors in this drink are going to be the Kiwi flavor combined with an Orange citrus like flavor. The only aspect of green apple you really taste is the tartness of a green apple. It is not overflowing with green apple sour candy flavor, this drink is pretty modest. The Green Label, much like the White Label, contains Sucralose in it’s ingredients. If you do not know what that is, it is a low calorie sugar substitute like the kind you would find in those little pink packets at restaurants. However, this drink does not taste like it has the low calorie sweetener like the White Label did, and I thought White Label had a “diet” taste to it as well. I would also like to add that this drink is very smooth and fizzy, and is not really thick and syrupy like some soft drinks tend to be, which is why I am fond of these canned craft sodas like Pepsi’s 1893 line.

Overall, I did enjoy this drink more than I did the White Label, but I have yet to try the Black Label which seems to be the most popular version. If I had to criticize this drink in any way it would be directed towards how modest this drink was. While I did praise it for not being overbearing and syrupy, I do wish the Green Apple flavor was much more prominent than it actually was. I think the concept of a green apple soft drink is very creative, but the green apple flavoring in the Green Label took somewhat of a backseat here. My next review probably won’t be on the Black Label, but it will be coming soon because I am anxious to try it out.

Calories: 140 Calories per can.

Misc: 83 mg of Caffeine per can. 16 fl. oz per serving/can.

i. e. 8/10

Leave a Reply

