Drink Review: Mountain Dew Spiked Lemonade

I’d like to begin this review by saying I am not fond of Mountain Dew as a soda. As a preteen I drank bottles of Mountain Dew weekly and Mountain Dew Voltage was my favorite soda. However a trip to Panera Bread involving Mountain Dew that involved me, my intestines, and the toilet, forever ruined my love for the drink and I still do not believe I have had a Mountain Dew since then. However, I do enjoy Mountain Dew Spiked Lemonade quite a bit, to put it simply it is a really good drink. This drink advertises that it includes Prickly Pear Cactus juice in it, which is the main selling point of this drink and the cactus juice is also what this Mountain Dew Lemonade is “spiked” with. The can says the drink includes real prickly pear cactus juice on it twice, and also has it printed in the list of ingredients below the Nutrition Facts leaving me to believe that the drink really does contain authentic prickly pear cactus juice. This drink’s can does make it clear that the beverage is non-alcoholic, due to the name of the drink having the word “spiked” in it, which normally does allude to alcoholic beverages. I just sort of found this drink in the refrigerator, I am pretty sure it is my dad’s but he was not around so I decided to drink it anyway and blog about it this Saturday afternoon.

What caught my eye first about the drink was the fact that it says “Spiked with Prickly Pear Cactus juice” as I mentioned above. That is a very unique approach to a drink and a wise one as well. One has to wonder however how Mountain Dew got enough prickly pear cacti to mass produce the juices required for such a drink. I just hope the deserts surrounding Mountain Dew’s factories still have some sort of flora. As for the actual taste of this drink, the taste is a bit different every time you take a sip out of it, which is not a bad characteristic at all it is actually a trait of this drink that I really enjoy. You do get a lemonade taste from this drink, but it is not really overwhelming nor is it sour. You also will not get too much of that sticky aftertaste that coats the back of your mouth which usually comes with drinking lemonade. The prickly pear cactus juice, the main selling point, actually does have a really nice taste to it! I never thought I would be drinking prickly pear cactus juice, but I do not regret anything now that I have. The taste of the prickly pear cactus juice has a bit of a spice and a kick to it, the cactus juice is not coarse, overwhelming, or unpleasant. I wish this drink did have a bit of a stronger taste to it, but the cactus juice and the lemonade do compliment each other very well so I cannot complain too much. Occasionally while you are drinking this drink you do get a bitter taste as a result of the caffeine in this drink, however it is not really an issue and it does not really harm the taste either. I actually can not tell if this is an energy drink or just a canned soda, or if it is just an offshoot of Mountain Dew Kickstart (but better), but I believe it is a soda and this is because the drink has about the same caffeine content as normal Mountain Dew. What is great about this drink though is that it does not taste like Mountain Dew and I feel like Mountain Dew probably could have advertised this drink as it’s own brand much like they do with AMP Energy, however I can also see that due to Mountain Dew Kickstart being on shelves that they may as well just leave this drink’s title as Mountain Dew Spiked Lemonade.

Release Date: 2017

Calories: 140 Calories per 16fl oz serving.

Misc: 72mg of Caffeine per 16fl oz, 2% Juice, 16fl oz per can.

i. e. 7.4/10

2 thoughts on “Drink Review: Mountain Dew Spiked Lemonade

Leave a Reply

